Blobologist-approved Reads: Inaugural ScienceSeeker Edition

Thanks to a variety of spectacular high-jinks in my life at the moment, I haven’t had time to write any posts for some time. Luckily, that hasn’t stopped me from procrastinetting, discovering new blogs, and feeling jealous of all the people out there that find time to write beautiful/funny/important posts. I say luckily, because starting today I’ll be one of the editors at ScienceSeeker.org, where I’ll be selecting outstanding posts from the vast ocean of science blogs lapping at your doorsteps. That’s right, I’ll be helping you to navigate the seas of scienceyness, trading my procrastination time for yours.

The new editors’ picks feature was launched this morning, along with a host of other improvements to the site that will make it more fun and more useful, with even more features to come. To kick off, I picked a couple of juicy posts from the Biology category that were published in the past few days:

Snail Season by Cameron Walker at Last Word On Nothing is a slightly guilty reflection on garden snail wars. It’s classic LWON–quirky, literary and just right.

Sex, lies and spider silk from The Scorpion and The Frog is a nice example of one of my favourite genres, comedic anthropomorphism as applied to crazyass spider behaviour. Spiders just make it too easy for us.

Cholera riots…! at Science left untitled is a slightly disturbing account of 19th century riots in Liverpool during a cholera outbreak. Not a biology post per se but who can scroll past promises of fear, paranoia and deadly infectious disease?

Finally, in Are neonicotinoid pesticides killing bees? Bug Girl gives us a measured view of some recent research on neonicotinoid pesticides and bees that hit the popular press last week. I like this post because it reminds me of what a funny new science blog world we live in now. In this world, Carl Zimmer writes a New York Times article about a complex subject, posts a supplemental blog post with supporting links, then expert bloggers add their voice and more context. It wasn’t so long ago that all I would be able to read was the NYT summary.

On that note, if you are a blogger trying to add your voice to fray, make sure you register at ScienceSeeker. Do it now! I can’t recommend your fine work unless you’re being aggregated there. And I really want to recommend your fine work.

Leave a Reply

