Curiosity killed the parrot? My guest post at Scientific American blogs

There’s too much to say about kea, those playful, destructive and slightly obsessive-compulsive snow parrots from New Zealand. I wrote a guest post at Scientific American Blogs this week on the problem of lead poisoning in wild kea populations, but there were a million things I had to leave out for fear of boring people with kea overload. If I ever finish my homework, maybe I’ll ¬†write more about them, in the meantime please enjoy:

Wheelie bin raids

The Kea Conservation Trust

The 1993 documentary Kea: Mountain Parrot

Kea - Mountain Parrot

Update (24th Jan):

Just plain ol’ footage of kea flying around:

Leave a Reply

